Thursday, March 27, 2008

ALCA hosts free Webinar on assisted living and Medicaid

Medicaid now can pay for assisted living care in more than 30 states.  But the rules vary from state to state, and both facilities and residents often have difficulty in navigating the system.

This session will explain common issues in Medicaid payment for assisted living, and discuss advocacy strategies both for indvidual disputes and for advocacy with state Medicaid agencies.

Eric Carlson, attorney from the National Senior Citizens Law Center (and ALCA President) will discuss his on-going research into Medicaid waiver payment for assisted living care, focusing on those issues of most importance to individual residents.  April Forsythe, with the Division of Community and Institutional Services of CMS, will discuss the federal government's role in administering Medicaid payment for assisted living and in monitoring the care provided by certified facilities.  A panelist to be determined will discuss his or her experiences with Medicaid payment for assisted living in a particular state.

You have two options for calling in.  If you think you might want to ask a question, you can call in at (641) 715-3399, code 666-643-442.  Don't use a cell phone, and it would be best if you have the technology to mute your phone when you're listening.

If you expect to listen only, call in as an attendee at (641) 715-3222, code 687-046-683.

The training will start at 3 p.m. Eastern, 2 p.m. Central, 1 p.m. Mountain, and noon Pacific, on Tuesday April 8.

Title:   Affordable Assisted Living? Advocacy Issues in Medicaid Payment for Assisted Living

Date:  Tuesday, April 8, 2008

Time:  3:00 PM - 4:00 PM EDT

Space is limited.
Reserve your Webinar seat now at:
https://www1.gotomeeting.com/register/456620183

http://lawprofessors.typepad.com/elder_law/2008/03/alca-hosts-free.html

Health Care/Long Term Care | Permalink

TrackBack URL for this entry:

http://www.typepad.com/services/trackback/6a00d8341bfae553ef00e5518fb44c8834

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference ALCA hosts free Webinar on assisted living and Medicaid: