ContractsProf Blog

Editor: Myanna Dellinger
University of South Dakota School of Law

Wednesday, November 24, 2010

Texas Wesleyan names former law dean as President

1908RandallCountyCourthouseCanyonTexas907TJnsn I'm personally very happy to announce that Texas Wesleyan University in Fort Worth has just named Frederick G. Slabach, CEO of the Harry S. Truman Scholarship Foundation in Washington D.C., as the 19th president of the 120-year-old university.

Slabach was dean of TWU's law school from 2003 to 2006  He's continued as Dean Emeritus and Professor of Law while holding the top leadership position at the Truman Foundation.  He replaces Harold Jeffcoat, who led the university for 10 years.

Before becoming dean at Texas Wesleyan, Slabach was vice dean and professor of law at Florida Coastal, associate dean for academic affairs at Mississippi College, and interim dean and associate dean at Whittier. He was an aide to Senator John Stennis and was Assistant Secretary of Agriculture for Congressional Relations in the Clinton Administration.  He also served a term as Executive Director of the Mississippi Democratic Party.  His wife is Pulitzer Prize-nominated writer Melany Nielsen.

Welcome back home, Fred.


Law Schools | Permalink

TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Texas Wesleyan names former law dean as President:


Post a comment

If you do not complete your comment within 15 minutes, it will be lost. For longer comments, you may want to draft them in Word or another program and then copy them into this comment box.