Thursday, August 5, 2010

Senate Confirms Kagan

The U.S. Senate voted Thursday 63-37 to confirm Elena Kagan to the Supreme Court.  The vote split largely along party lines, but five Republicans (Susan Collins, Lindsey Graham, Judd Gregg, Richard Lugar, and Olympia Snowe) voted yes and one Democrat (Ben Nelson) voted no.  The New York Times has an interactive map of the vote here.

Kagan is President Obama's second appointment to the Supreme Court (after Justice Sonia Sotomayor, confirmed last summer) and the fourth woman to serve on the Court (after Justices Sandra Day O'Connor, Ruth Bader Ginsburg, and Sonia Sotomayor).  This coming term will be the first in which three women sit together on the Court.  Kagan succeeds Justice John Paul Stevens.


News | Permalink

TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Senate Confirms Kagan:


Post a comment