Tuesday, July 20, 2010

Kagan Confirmed by Judiciary Senate Committee

The vote was 13-6, largely along party lines, with Lindsey Graham joining the majority of Democrats in the Senate Judiciary Committee to confirm the nomination of Elena Kagan to the United States Supreme Court.

Elena Kagan and Sheldon Whitehouse Committee Members are:  Chair, Patrick J. Leahy (D-Vermont); Herb Kohl (D-Wisconsin); Jeff Sessions (R-Alabama); Dianne Feinstein (D-California); Orrin Hatch (R-Utah); Russ Feingold (D-Wisconsin); Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa); Arlen Specter (D-Pennsylvania); Jon Kyl (R-Arizona); Chuck Schumer (D-New York); Lindsey Graham (R-South Carolina); Dick Durbin (D-Illinois); John Cornyn (R-Texas);  Benjamin L. Cardin (D-Maryland); Tom Coburn (R-Oklahoma); Sheldon Whitehouse (D-Rhode Island); Amy Klobuchar (D-Minnesota); Ted Kaufman (D-Delaware); Al Franken (D-Minnesota).

The full Senate is expected to vote in August.

[image: Sheldon Whitehouse and Elena Kagan via]

[Updated Material:  Tom Coburn discussed his views of Kagan in National Review Online; Jeff Sessions provided his "opposing view" to the USA TODAY endorsement of Kagan; and Arlen Specter earlier expressed his qualified support for Kagan in USA TODAY].



Appointment and Removal Powers, News | Permalink

TrackBack URL for this entry:


Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Kagan Confirmed by Judiciary Senate Committee:


Post a comment