« Small Rhode Island Town Goes Bankrupt | Main | Info from Chapter 13 Trustee »

August 1, 2011

ABI Ethics Task Force / Project

Posted by Jim Cossitt:

I am a member of a recently formed ABI Ethics Task Force / Project that is going to be making proposals for uniform national standards. We are just getting started and I will put this on the list of possible topics.

The task force has been formed to:

The ABI National Ethics Task Force (the “Task Force”), which was formed by ABI President Geoff Berman earlier this year, met in Brooklyn at the Conrad B. Duberstein United States Bankruptcy Courthouse on July 11, 2011. The mission of the Task Force is to consider ethics issues in bankruptcy practice and make recommendations for uniform standards, where appropriate. During its meeting, the Task Force further narrowed the scope of topics it intends to study and address and set a schedule for future meetings.

Judith Greenstone Miller has been appointed the Chair of the Task Force. Professor Nancy Rapoport and Professor Lois Lupica, bankruptcy ethics specialists at the University of Nevada Las Vegas and the University of Maine, respectively, are serving as the reporters for the Task Force. The Honorable Elizabeth Stong, United States Bankruptcy Court for the Eastern District of New York, is serving as the judicial liaison for the Task Force. The Task Force members include: Michael Richman, Richard Carmody, Richard Meth, Susan Freeman, Robert Charles, T. Edward Gavin, Claude L. “Chip”) Bowles, Jr., Theresa Brown-Edwards, Steven Schwaber, James Cossitt, and Andy Vara, Assistant United States Trustee for Region 9. Ex officio serving on the Task Force are Sam Gerdano, Amy Quackenboss, Geoff Berman, Robert Keach and James Marcus.

If you have any suggestions for topics or issues that the Task Force should address, please email Judy Miller at jmiller@jaffelaw.com.

If there are others who have ethics / civility / competence issues of importance to the consumer bar that you would like to be considered or addressed, please advise.

The consumer committee consists of myself, Steven Schwaber, Judge Stong, Chip Bowles and I think Andy Vara as well. Professor Lois Lupica is the reporter for the consumer group and also the author of a big consumer fee study that will be released this winter.

Feel free to contact me publicly at this address or privately at jhc@cossittlaw.com.

Thanks, Jim

*Jim Cossitt, Kalispell MT USA
Tel. 406-752-5616 Mountain
*District of Montana / CA 9*
For private or off list email please use: jhc@cossittlaw.com

August 1, 2011 in Current Affairs | Permalink


TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference ABI Ethics Task Force / Project :


Post a comment