« NACBA Program Available on CD | Main | May Bankruptcy Filings - Hot Off the Press »

June 4, 2008

Belated Congratulations to UWLA Moot Court Team

University of West Los Angeles School of Law
Office of the Dean, George Dezes
9920 S. La Cienega Boulevard · Suite 415 · Inglewood, California 90301
Telephone: (310) 342-5270 · Fax: (310) 342-5293

Writer’s Direct E-Mail Address: gdezes@uwla.edu
Traynor Moot Court Competition

Last weekend, on Saturday, April 5, UWLA students Caroline Rath and Joshua Siegel were among the 47 California law students competing in the 39th annual Roger J. Traynor Moot Court competition.  The competition, inspired by the renowned former Chief Justice of California, is a nationally recognized event in which all California law schools may participate. Each competitor-school fields a team of students who have prepared written and oral arguments in a simulated appeal.  The competition judges are made up exclusively of appellate court judges and certified appellate specialists.  Seventeen law schools entered the competition this year.  Participating schools of law included UC Berkeley, UCLA, UC Davis, Hastings, the University of San Diego, USF and McGeorge.

At the conclusion of Saturday's competition, ten of the competing students received special distinction for averaging a score of at least 90% in oral argument, as graded by the judges.  Both Ms. Rath and Mr. Siegel were in the top ten. The university salutes their accomplishment and congratulates all of the UWLA moot court honors students who distinguished themselves in various moot court competitions this year, as UWLA enjoyed another successful year in moot court.

Last but certainly not least, our special gratitude, admiration and congratulations go out to the longtime director of UWLA’s Moot Court program, Professor David Glassman, without whose always-tireless and –conscientious efforts none of this would be possible.

Following is a listing of all 2007-2008 UWLA Moot Court Honors participants: Devre Bates, Ronald Binder, Kevin Cottrell, Matthew Jewett, Susan Livshin, Caroline Rath, Steven Ross, Joshua Siegel, Nadia Taghizadeh and Richard Uss.

June 4, 2008 in Current Affairs | Permalink


TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Belated Congratulations to UWLA Moot Court Team:


Post a comment