Antitrust & Competition Policy Blog

Editor: D. Daniel Sokol
University of Florida
Levin College of Law

Wednesday, September 13, 2017

Transformations of Competition Law Friday 20 October 2017, 09:00 - 18:00

This one-day conference is co-organized by the Centre for Law, Economics and Society at UCL and the Global Competition Law Centre at the College of Europe, Bruges

The conference is convened by:

  • Professor Ioannis Lianos, UCL
  • Dr. Damien Gerard, College of Europe & Université Catholique de Louvain.

The conference will explore the “liminal conditions of modern competition law” (Lianos, 2017), in particular the various transformations that are taking place globally and may affect the direction of the competition law enterprise. Four transformations emerge as being particularly challenging for mainstream competition law doctrine. The conference will therefore be divided into four panels dealing with each of these areas:

  • The political dimension of competition law: protectionism and populism, free trade and globalism
  • The financialisation challenge: common and joint ownership
  • Technological transformations and the emergence of a new competition law
  • “Social” and “Green” capitalism: towards a social and green antitrust?

Confirmed speakers include:

  • Jose Azar (IESE Business School, University of Navarra)
  • Cristina Caffara (Charles River Associates)
  • Dennis Davis (Competition Appeal Court of South Africa & University of Cape Town)
  • Carles Esteva-Mosso (European Commission)
  • Amelia Fletcher (FCA & University of East Anglia)
  • Michal Gal (University of Haifa)
  • Damien Geradin (Tilburg University & UCL)
  • Damien Gerard (College of Europe & Université Catholique de Louvain)
  • Herbert Hovenkamp (University of Pennsylvania Law School & Warton School of Business)
  • Alexey Ivanov (HSE/Skolkovo Institute for Law and Development)
  • Suzanne Kingston (University College Dublin)
  • Ioannis Kokkoris (CCLS, Queen Mary University of London)
  • Assimakis Komninos (White & Case & UCL)
  • Kai-Uwe Kuhn (University of East Anglia)
  • Ioannis Lianos (UCL)
  • Guillaume Loriot (European Commission)
  • Philip Lowe (FTI Consulting)
  • Bjorn Lundqvist (Stockholm University)
  • Barry Lynn (Open Markets)
  • Oke Odudu (University of Cambridge)
  • Sir Peter Roth (Competition Appeal Tribunal)
  • Maarten Pieter Schinkel (University of Amsterdam)
  • Maurice Stucke (University of Tennessee College of Law)
  • Mike Walker (Competition and Markets Authority)
  • Tim Wu (Columbia Law School)

You can register here.

| Permalink


Post a comment