Antitrust & Competition Policy Blog

Editor: D. Daniel Sokol
University of Florida
Levin College of Law

Tuesday, March 19, 2013

GCR Awards 2013: Finalists announced & voting open

Posted by D. Daniel Sokol

GCR Awards 2013: Finalists announced & voting open

Global Competition Review is pleased to publish the shortlist of nominations for its GCR Awards 2013.

Please click here to vote. Voting closes at midnight on Tuesday 26 March.

The winners will be announced at GCR's 3rd Annual Awards Dinner on 9 April in Washington, DC. Click here for more information on the awards dinner.

All nominations link to the relevant GCR news article on the matter in question. If you feel you or your organisation have not been properly represented on a case, please email .

Team awards

Matter of the Year

FTC investigation of Google

Sony/EMI & Universal/EMI


Defence of Chunghwa in global CRT and LCD cartel investigations


Merger Control Matter of the Year – Americas

Opposition to Tervita/Complete Environmental, Canada

Camargo Corrêa’s acquisition of CIMPOR, Brazil

Rockstar acquisition of Nortel patent portfolio, US

Dollar Thrifty/Hertz, US

Fresenius/Liberty Dialysis, US

Merger Control Matter of the Year – Asia-Pacific, Middle East & Africa

Eaton/Cooper, China

UTC/Goodrich, China


Toshiba’s acquisition of Western Digital’s 3.5 inch HDD business

Pannar/Pioneer, South Africa

Merger Control Matter of the Year – Europe

Orange Austria/Hutchison 3G Austria


Lafarge/Anglo American


Interveners in UPS/TNT

Behavioural Matter of the Year – Americas

FTC standard essential patent investigation of Google

FTC v Watson Pharmaceuticals

DoJ e-books investigation

FTC v WL Gore

CADE v Philip Morris

Behavioural Matter of the Year – Asia-Pacific, Middle East & Africa

Coca-Cola retail display investigation, Singapore

Cement cartel case, India

First case from a leniency application, Pakistan

The North Face resale price maintenance case, Korea

Behavioural Matter of the Year – Europe

Defence of British Airways in OFT fuel surcharge case

EU e-book settlement

Nexans and Prysmian v DG Comp dawn raids

E.ON and GDF Suez v DG Comp

DG Comp v Tomkins

Litigation of the Year

National Grid v Gas-insulated switchgear cartelists, UK

2Travel Group plc v Cardiff City Transport Services Limited (Cardiff Bus) before the CAT, UK

Potash Corporation of Saskatchewan in antitrust class actions, US

In RE Live Concert Antitrust Litigation, US

Defence of Toshiba in TFT-LCD Antitrust Litigation, US

In RE Southeastern Milk Antitrust Litigation, US

Individuals' awards

Lawyer of the Year

Susan Creighton – Wilson Sonsini Goodrich & Rosati

David I Gelfand – Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton

Clifford Aronson – Skadden Arps Slate Meagher & Flom

Christopher Curran – White & Case

Jon Lawrence – Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer

Arthur J Burke – Davis Polk & Wardwell

Lawyer of the Year - 40 and under

Casey Halladay – McMillan

Eric Stock – Hogan Lovells

Leah Brannon – Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton

Ingrid Vandenborre – Skadden Arps Slate Meagher & Flom

Rafique Bachour – Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer

Economist of the Year

Parker Normann – Edgeworth Economics

Andrea Lofaro – RBB Economics

Gunnar Niels – Oxera

Cristina Caffarra – Charles River Associates

Zoltan Biro – Frontier Economics

Corporate Counsel of the Year

Mark Allen, FedEx

Juliusz Komorek, Ryanair

Marceline Tournier, Nestlé SA

Michael Sosso, BP America

Christoph Feddersen, UTC

Academic Excellence Award

Daniel Sokol – University of Florida

Joshua Wright, George Mason University (current FTC commissioner)

Damien Geradin, Tillburg University

Fiona Scott Morton, Yale University (Charles River Associates)

Mark Lemley, Stanford Law School

Speech or Conference Session of the Year

Ali Nikpay, senior director at the OFT, “UK cartel enforcement: past, present, future”

GCR Live: Litigation 2012, “Does competition economics need an overhaul?”

William E. Kovacic, Centre of European Law, London, July 2012

Enforcement awards

Agency of the Year – Americas

Brazil’s CADE

US Department of Justice’s antitrust division

Mexico’s Federal Competition Commission

Canada’s Competition Bureau

US Federal Trade Commission

Agency of the Year – Asia-Pacific, Middle East & Africa

India’s Competition Commission

Japan’s Fair Trade Commission

Pakistan’s Competition Commission

Turkey’s Competition Authority

Agency of the Year – Europe

Germany’s Federal Cartel Office

European Commission’s Directorate General of Competition

France’s Competition Authority

Spain’s National Competition Commission

Norway’s Competition Authority

Enforcement Matter of the Year

Court of Appeal of England & Wales in Ryanair Holdings plc v Office of Fair Trading

Acquisition of TPS and CanalSatellite’s sole control by Vivendi Universal and Canal Plus - France's Competition Authority

European Commission CRT cartel fine


Commissioner of Competition v CCS Corporation/Commissioner of Competition v Tervita Corporation

| Permalink

TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference GCR Awards 2013: Finalists announced & voting open:


Post a comment