Antitrust & Competition Policy Blog

Editor: D. Daniel Sokol
University of Florida
Levin College of Law

Monday, May 10, 2010

Department of Justice, Federal Trade Commission and U.S. Patent and Trademark Office to Hold Workshop on Promoting Innovation

Posted by D. Daniel Sokol

The Department of Justice, the Federal Trade Commission (FTC) and the Department of Commerce's United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) announced today that they will hold a joint public workshop on the intersection of patent policy and competition policy and its implications for promoting innovation.

Welcoming Remarks
9:00 a.m.-9:30 a.m.

David Kappos, Under Secretary of Commerce for Intellectual Property and Director of the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office
Christine Varney, Assistant Attorney General, Antitrust Division, Department of Justice
Aneesh Chopra, U.S. Chief Technology Officer, Executive Office of the President

PANEL 1: The Patent Application Backlog: The Competitive Challenges for Innovators
9:30 a.m.-11:00 a.m.

John F. Duffy, Oswald Symister Colclough Research Professor of Law,
The George Washington University Law School
Josh Makower, M.D., Founder & CEO, ExploraMed Development LLC
Michael Meurer, Professor of Law, Boston University School of Law
Richard T. Ogawa, Esq., Ogawa P.C.
Scott Stern, Joseph and Carole Levy Professor, Kellogg School of Management, Northwestern University and Visiting Professor, MIT Sloan School of Management

11:00 a.m.-11:15 a.m.

PANEL 2: Permanent Injunctions in the District Courts and ITC: Effects on Competition and Innovation
11:15 a.m.-12:45 p.m.

Bernard J. Cassidy, Executive Vice President and General Counsel, Tessera Technologies Inc.
Colleen Chien, Assistant Professor of Law, Santa Clara Law
Alice A. Kipel, Partner, Steptoe & Johnson LLP
Christine McDaniel, Economic Adviser to Chairman Shara L. Aranoff, U.S. International Trade Commission
William Barr, former General Counsel, Verizon Communications Inc.
Emily Ward, Vice President and Deputy General Counsel, eBay Inc. (invited)

Lunch Break
12:45 a.m.-2:15 p.m.

Introductory Remarks
2:15 a.m.-2:30 p.m.

Edith Ramirez, Commissioner, Federal Trade Commission

PANEL 3: Standard Setting, Patent Rights, and Competition Policy
2:30 p.m.-4:00 p.m.

Mark Chandler, Senior Vice President & General Counsel, Cisco Systems Inc.
Patrick Gallagher, Director, National Institute of Standards & Technology,
Department of Commerce
Brian Kahin, Senior Fellow, Computer & Communications Industry Association
Anne Layne-Farrar, Director, LECG
Amy A. Marasco, General Manager, Standards Strategy, Microsoft Corp.
A. Douglas Melamed, Senior Vice President & General Counsel, Intel Corp.

4:00 p.m.-4:15 p.m.

Wrap-Up Discussion
4:15 p.m.-5:15 p.m.

Carl Shapiro, Deputy Assistant Attorney General for Economic Analysis, Antitrust Division, Department of Justice
Joseph Farrell, Director, Bureau of Economics, Federal Trade Commission
Stuart Graham, Chief Economist, U.S. Patent and Trademark Office

| Permalink

TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Department of Justice, Federal Trade Commission and U.S. Patent and Trademark Office to Hold Workshop on Promoting Innovation :


Post a comment