Antitrust & Competition Policy Blog

Editor: D. Daniel Sokol
University of Florida
Levin College of Law

Friday, September 11, 2009

GCR's 2009 Competition Law Review

Posted by D. Daniel Sokol


GCR's 2009 Competition Law Review

Recent developments in Competition Law and Policy

Monday 16 and Tuesday 17 November 2009, The Conrad Hotel, Brussels

Excellent speakers, excellent value!

Keynote speakers: Commissioner J. Thomas Rosch, Federal Trade Commission, Washington DC and Philip Lowe, Director General, DG Competition, European Commission, Brussels

Topics will include:

  • Competition snapshot - a year in review
  • Latest developments in cartel enforcement - review of recent cases, level of the fines, direct settlements
  • Information exchanges - challenges for antitrust in a recession
  • Vertical agreements - the revised regulation and guidelines
  • Recent developments in merger control - policy developments and trends in an economic downturn
  • Article 82 - application of Article 82 in innovative and high-tech sectors
  • The pharmaceutical sector inquiry - the Commission's final report
  • Damages actions for breach of the EC antitrust rules
  • 'Question time' - a roundtable discussion with senior competition representatives

Register here

Confirmed speakers include:

  • Peter Alexiadis, Partner, Gibson Dunn & Crutcher LLP, Brussels
  • Lars-Hendrik Röller, President ESMT, Berlin
  • Olivier Guersent, Director, DG Competition, European Commission
  • Bruno Lasserre, President, Autorité de la Concurrence
  • Christian Ewald, Chief Economist, Bundeskartellamt
  • Professor Frédéric Jenny, Director for International Relations ESSEC, Judge of the Supreme Court of France
  • Lars Kjølbye, Partner, Howrey, Brussels
  • Tony Reeves, Partner, Clifford Chance LLP, Brussels
  • Gerwin Van Gerven, Partner, Linklaters LLP, Brussels
  • Gary R. Spratling, Partner, Gibson Dunn & Crutcher, LLP, San Francisco
  • Jürgen Schwarze, Director, Institute of Public Law, Department of European and Public International Law, Freiburg
  • Wouter Wils, Legal Service, European Commission and Professor, King's College London
  • Robbert Snelders, Partner, Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLP, Brussels
  • Luc Peeperkorn, Senior Administrator, DG Competition, European Commission
  • Stephen Kinsella OBE, Partner, Sidley Austin LLP, Brussels
  • Melanie Thill Tayara, Partner, Salans, Paris
  • Nikos Vettas, Professor, Athens University of Economics and Business, CEPR, and EAGCP
  • Philippe Chappatte, Partner, Slaughter and May, London
  • Guillaume Loriot, Head of Unit, Antitrust and Merger Case Support DG, Competition, European Commission
  • Simon Priddis, Partner, Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer LLP, Brussels
  • Matthias Pflanz, Vice President, CRA International, London
  • James R. Lowe, Partner, Wilmer Cutler Pickering Hale and Dorr LLP, Washington DC
  • Thomas Vinje, Partner, Clifford Chance LLP, Brussels
  • Nick Banasavic, Deputy Head of Unit, DG Competition, European Commission
  • James S. Venit, Partner, Skadden Arps Slate Meagher & Flom LLP, Brussels
  • Jorge Padilla, Managing Director, LECG, London and Brussels
  • Petri Kuoppamäki, Vice President Corporate Legal, Nokia Corporation, Helsinki
  • Philipp Gasparon, Deputy Head of Unit, DG Competition, European Commission
  • Stephen Kon, Partner, SJ Berwin LLP, London and Brussels
  • David H. Rosenberg, GlaxoSmithKline PLC, London
  • Daniele Calisti, Private Enforcement Unit, DG Competition, European Commission
  • Robert O'Donoghue, Brick Court Chambers, London
  • Gunnar Niels, Director, Oxera, Oxford
  • Tim Reher, Partner, CMS Hasche Sigle, Hamburg

Download the programme here

Register now to join delegates from organisations including:

Allen & Overy LLP • Autorità Garante della Concorrenza e del Mercato • Barcellos Tucunduva • Bugge, Arentz-Hansen & Rasmussen • CHEP International • CMS Adonnino Ascoli & Cavasola Scamoni • Copenhagen Economics • D&B David si Baias SCA • Danish Competition Authority • Frontier Economics • Gleiss Lutz • Gorrissen Federspiel • Hunton & Williams • LMR Attorneys Ltd • Morrison & Foerster LLP • The Netherlands Competition Authority • Ogilvy Renault LLP • Orange Home UK Limited • Peli Filip SCA • Roschier • Sidley Austin LLP • Swedish Competition Authority • Swedish Post and Telecom Agency • Telenor ASA • Wärtsilä Corporation • White & Case • Wolf Theiss


  • Standard registration: £950 (+ 21% TVA = £1149.50)
  • In-house Lawyer and Government Agencies: £850 (+ 21% TVA= £1028.50)

Register here

| Permalink

TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference GCR's 2009 Competition Law Review:


Post a comment