Antitrust & Competition Policy Blog

Editor: D. Daniel Sokol
University of Florida
Levin College of Law

Wednesday, March 12, 2008

Call for Nominations for the Jerry S. Cohen Award for Best Antitrust Scholarship of 2007

Posted by D. Daniel Sokol

From AAI:

Wanted - The Best Antitrust Scholarship of 2007: Call for Nominations

The Jerry S. Cohen Memorial Charitable Trust is again seeking nominations for its annual award for best antitrust scholarship. Legal, economic, and business articles, monographs, and books published during 2007 are eligible for this award of approximately $8,000-9,000. The Award will be presented during the American Antitrust Institute Annual Conference at the National Press Club on June 19, 2008 in Washington, D.C.

Although the Cohen Award's judges search the literature for worthy scholarship, your nominations, including self-nominations, will help make sure they do not accidentally overlook any important candidates.

The award is made through a trust set up in the memory of antitrust attorney and author Jerry S. Cohen, brought about by efforts and donations of friends, colleagues and his former law firm. This year's award will be selected by a committee consisting of Professors John Flynn, Eleanor Fox, and Warren Grimes; antitrust practitioners Daniel Small and Charles Goodwin; and Judge Ann Yahner. Last year's winners were Professors Lawrence Sullivan and Warren Grimes for “The Law of Antitrust:  An Integrated Handbook” (2nd Ed. 2006). Previous winners include Barry Nalebuff for "Exclusionary Bundling," Professor Andrew Gavil for "Exclusionary Distribution Strategies by Dominant Firms: Striking a Better Balance," Professor John Connor, for "Global Price Fixing," and Professors Joseph F. Brodley, Patrick Bolton, and Michael H. Riordan for "Predatory Pricing: Strategic Theory and Legal Policy."

To be considered eligible and selected for the award, submissions should reflect a concern for principles of economic justice, the dispersal of economic power, the maintenance of effective limitations upon economic power or the federal statutes designed to protect society from various forms of anticompetitive activity.  Submissions should reflect an awareness of the human and social impacts of economic institutions upon individuals, small businesses and other institutions necessary to the maintenance of a just and humane society--values and concerns Jerry S. Cohen dedicated his life and work to fostering.  Submissions may address substantive procedural or evidentiary matters that reflect these values and concerns.

Please send a copy of your nomination before March 15, 2008 to Herbert E. Milstein, at, or at Cohen, Milstein, Hausfeld & Toll, P.L.L.C., 1100 New York Avenue, N.W., West Tower, Suite 500, Washington, D.C. 20005. If you have any questions about the Cohen Award, please contact Herbert E. Milstein, at 202-408-4600 or at

| Permalink

TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Call for Nominations for the Jerry S. Cohen Award for Best Antitrust Scholarship of 2007:


Post a comment