Antitrust & Competition Policy Blog

Editor: D. Daniel Sokol
University of Florida
Levin College of Law

Tuesday, February 6, 2007

Competition for the Best Antitrust Scholarship of 2006

Posted by D. Daniel Sokol

The American Antitrust Institute is holding its annual competition for the Jerry S. Cohen Award for the Best Antitrust Scholarship of the Year.

From the AAI press release:

The Jerry S. Cohen Memorial Charitable Trust is again seeking nominations for its annual award for best antitrust scholarship. Legal, economic, and business articles, monographs, and books published during 2006 are eligible for this award of approximately $8,000-10,000. The Award will be presented during the American Antitrust Institute Annual Conference on June 21, 2007, in Washington, D.C.

Although the Cohen Award's judges search the literature for worthy scholarship, your nominations, including self-nominations, will help make sure they do not accidentally overlook any important candidates.

The award is made through a trust set up in the memory of antitrust attorney and author Jerry S. Cohen, brought about by efforts and donations of friends, colleagues and his former law firm. This year's award will be selected by a committee consisting of Professors John Flynn, Eleanor Fox, Robert Lande and Steven Salop, antitrust practitioners David Romine and Charles Goodwin, and Judge Ann Yahner.

Last year's recipient was Professor Barry Nalebuff for his article, Exclusionary Bundling, 30 Antitrust Bull. 321 (2005). Previous winners include Professor Andrew Gavil, for Exclusionary Distribution Strategies by Dominant Firms: Striking a Better Balance, Professor John Connor, for his book Global Price Fixing, and Professors Joseph F. Brodley, Patrick Bolton, and Michael H. Riordan for Predatory Pricing: Strategic Theory and Legal Policy.

To be selected for the award, submissions should address substantive, procedural, or evidentiary issues important to the statutes designed to protect consumers and society as a whole from anticompetitive activity. Submissions should include such concerns as the maintenance of effective limitations upon economic power, principles of economic justice, the dispersal of economic power, and an awareness of the human and social impacts of economic institutions upon individuals, small businesses and other institutions necessary to the maintenance of a just and humane society. All these are values and concerns that Jerry S. Cohen dedicated his life and work to fostering.

Please send a copy of your nomination before April 1, 2007 to Herbert E. Milstein, at, or at Cohen, Milstein, Hausfeld & Toll, P.L.L.C., 1100   New York Avenue, N.W., West Tower, Suite 500, Washington, D.C. 20005. For a detailed statement of the Award's eligibility and selection criteria, or if you have any questions about the Cohen Award, please also contact Herbert E. Milstein, at 202-408-4600 or at

| Permalink

TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Competition for the Best Antitrust Scholarship of 2006:


Post a comment